top of page
Search

The worst is not the end : A survival guideline

People asked me how do I remain calm and composed, even in some situations where I should be panic I tend not too. It might lies on my tendency to expect the worst and prepare for what comes next after the said downfall, though this frame of thinking could be credited to those who raise me and events that led to my eventual acceptance, I must say that I wasn’t aware—at least until today—that his concept has been explored many years ago by many great philosophers such as Zeno and Seneca. As for today I’m still officially part of UI for Harvard WorldMUN delegation, but when the clock strikes three I will finally get the result of my probation. My probation obliged me to win at least one best delegate award (first place in national MUN) and to perform greatly on the training session. Facts is I failed to even win best delegate and I struggle in some of my training. To deal with it I have invite myself to think the worst possible outcome, like I always do, and turns out I will survive the fall. There are also times when I feel like it would be much more honorable to land myself instead of crashing down, in this context to probate myself before they have the chance to. I will say that this form of thinking grant me a peace of mind, everything that I do will always come from a place of abundance and acceptance, this allows me to think clearly and most importantly logically. (Kania)

Expectations of my scores from the start of college is not that high, but not that low either. I'm not the type of person that is ambitious towards title such as Cum Laude. What I keep in mind is that I have to do my best regardless the scores that I got. Seeing how the reality goes, my mid semester exams seem fine to me. Some scores went over my expectations and some scores went below. The reason I have not that high of expectations towards my scores, which is of course the reason I strive in this university is because I don't want to put too much pressure on my shoulders. To me, taking it seriously but having to relax is the key to doing the best. On a reflection towards my scores even though it seems fine, I could have done better and try harder to achieve higher scores and definitely make my parents proud. (Arya)

A lot is happening with life, especially when it comes to expectation and reality. I experienced my hope didn’t meet the expectation. It all started with the midterm exam. I already prepared for the Introduction to Communication subject from 1 week before the midterm. All the preparations before the test, I have ready neatly and intentions, from making summaries until highlighted Ruben’s book with colourful stabilos. With those preparations, I automatically set the goal to have a good score. Then the time to do midterm has arrived. The aftermath of midterm, I feel relieved and confident with the results of my answers. A few weeks later, I got the results from the test, and it’s horrible. Surprised, disappointed, felt like a failure all become one. But at the end of the day I realized, it is normal when your expectation differs 180 degrees from reality. The right side of this experience, I learned that you always have to be prepared for the situation in the real world, even though it is worst than your scenario. (Azlifa)

I think the biggest issue that every college students have is about reaching a good score to achieve the goal of graduate with cum laude, and I’m one of them. From my experience when I was in high school, I have never been to this upset and disappointed in myself about getting a bad score in the exam. My very first exam at the University of Indonesia made me feels like a loser. I have tried my best in Introduction to Communication subject because it is the main subject of my major and also it is still the beginning of this semester. I became the all-nighter for 2 weeks before the exam. However, after I received the result, I feel devastated because there were number three within the paper. But I still dedicated to pursuing my dream to reach cum laude. (Najlaa)

In over 6 months I expected college work to be exponentially different from high school work, I soon learn that college work is not that different from my high school’s usual work, in the sense that essays are similar, posters are on par with the ones in my high school, and PowerPoint presentation is the same other than the addition of a reference slide. Though they are very similar there are some differences that I felt was really hard to jump over but jump over I will. Some of the obstacle that I’ve been really struggling is finding and using reference, I found out very early the huge consequences I have to face if I didn’t put a reference in my work very early into my college semester. One way I use reference is by seeing whether the site or work is made by someone legitimate, if there isn’t a writer I look at the site and compare to other sites or books and from there I could conclude whether the source is legitimate or not. A very great tip I learned just recently is using easybib.com to convert my list of sites and blogs to a reference format that’s acceptable like MLA for example, easy bib teaches and also converts sites into a format you desire. (Eca)

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A narrative of Pride and Prejudice

First came pride and then prejudice, first come a letter written eloquently, telling us that just like many great people before us that we have made it to the very institution that birth them and soon

Roby Muhamad Biography

With his involvement in a Small World Project, Roby Muhamad, an entrepreneur and also an Indonesian sociologist who focused on research in the field of social networking, won an award as one of the 10

Questions for Next Week Interview

1.I believe that the reason to all the world problem lies in our inability to understand one another. Do you agree with this notion? 2.in one of your video, you once said that the reason why you choos

bottom of page